Background Image (Blurring)
Slideshow Gallery

Our Fabulous Playground

Our Fabulous Playground

From the Head’s Office

Glorious weather at the start of term has allowed the children to make the most of Mrs Gaven’s renovations to the school playground.  A huge thank you to Mrs Gaven and her team of happy helpers for all their efforts and to APPA for funding the new equipment.  Mrs Gaven has further ‘grand designs’ planned and we look forward to seeing these take shape as the term progresses.

Inside school, we now have three sparkling new children’s toilets upstairs for the older children in school (located between the classrooms) and new staff / visitor toilets too.  These have already made a considerable improvement to break times and lunchtimes for all our children.

Year 3 ventured out to the Bowes Museum yesterday to learn about Greek mythical creatures and make their own amphora pots.   Miss Phillips and Mrs O’Kelly positively gushed with pride about how well the children had listened, asked insightful questions and generally engaged very well throughout the day.  One visitor to the museum remarked that the children were “the most well-mannered, smart and articulate children he had ever seen! ”  A wonderful accolade.

Finally, please could we remind parents that dogs are to be kept on leads around the school grounds and should not cross pitches.  Thank you.

With best wishes,   Susie Drake,  Head of Pre-Prep

Reminders:

  • Pre-Prep will be open for a normal school day, Monday 4th May
  • Please bring everything needed to cope with the changeable weather—jumpers/cardigans, coats, wellingtons and sunhats!
  • If your child needs sun cream, if at all possible please apply long lasting sun cream before the start of school.  
  • Please ensure children have all their correct PE Kit and swimming kit in school on the correct day.

Dates for Your Diary

Thursday 30th April: PP1 to Thorp Perrow

Thursday 7th May: Whole School Photograph

Thursday 14th May: Sports Teams Photographs

* Friday 15th May: U8 Cricket and Rounders v Barnard Castle (h) Please note, there will be no assembly this Friday.

Thursday 21st May: PP2 Class Visit to Bolton Castle

* Thursday 21st May, 3.30pm: Mr Goddard’s presentation about moving to the Prep School

Friday 22nd May, 3.30pm:  All of Pre-Prep finish for Half Term

Monday 1st June: Pre-Prep resumes

* Tuesday 2nd June:  U8 Cricket and Rounders v Poklington (a)

Thursday 4th June: PP3 to Maths Challenge

Monday 8th June: PP3 to Prep School Arts Week Outing

Tuesday 9th June: Nursery to PP2 Step Up Morning

Tuesday 9th June: PP3 to Prep School Arts Week Activities

Wednesday 10th June: PP3 to Prep School Arts Week Activities

* Friday 12th June, 11.00-12.00: Nursery Sports Day

* Friday 12th June, 12.00-1.00: Pre-Prep Picnic Lunch for all Pre-Prep parents, bring your picnic, and enjoy lunch in the grounds

* Friday 12th June, 1.00: Reception to PP3 Sports Day

* Week beginning 15th June: Parent-Teacher Meeting this week

Thursday 18th June: PP3 to Queen Mary’s Activity Day

Monday 22nd June: Pre-Prep to watch 4th Form play

Tuesday 23rd June: Reception Visit to Studfold Farm 

* Wednesday 24th June, 4.00pm: Ballet Tea 

Thursday 25th June: PP1 Visit to Saltburn

Friday 26th June: PP3 to watch ‘Groovy Greeks’ at Darlington Civic Theatre

* Friday 26th June: APPA Strawberry Fayre

Wednesday 1st July: Pre-Prep Picnic Lunch (children only)

Thursday 2nd July: PP3 Trip to Carlton Lodge 

* Friday 3rd July, 11.00: End of Term Assembly

Friday 3rd July, 12.15: End of Term (lunch is not served on last day of term)

* Parents are welcome to attend these events.

Menu—Week 2

  • Tuesday—Spaghetti Bolognaise
  • Wednesday—Pork Tagine
  • Thursday—Chicken Pie
  • Friday—Fish and Chips
  • Monday—Steak and Ale Pie

Assembly theme for the week:  Respect

Happy Birthday to: Skye Taffs, Sebastian Buczacki, Harry Bateman, Buster Preston

At our end of term assembly the cups and trophies were presented.

The Biker Cups for Kindness were awarded to: 

  • Gus Favell
  • Joseph Cox
  • Bertie Bullas
  • Nicol White
  • Flora Favell
  • Amber Goodhart

The Hill Trophy for Sporting Attitude was given to:

  • Anna Harrison-Topham

The Adair Cup for artistic endeavour was presented to:

  • Sebastian Buczacki

The Sinnott Cup for effort in swimming was given to:

  • Tom Bland

The Lambert House Cup was won by Yellow House

Our Fabulous Playground

More pictures on our Aysgarth Pre-Prep Face Book Page (search for Aysgarth Pre-Prep).